Jump to contents

Gold Medals and Ramon Llull prizes of the Balearic Government

Gold Medals and Ramon Llull prizes of the Balearic Government
The Govern de les Illes Balears has decided to award with the "Medalles d'Or" and with the "Premis Ramon Llull 2002", that are traditionally awarded within the events organised round March 1 for the "Dia de les Illes Balears", to the people and entities listed as follows.

Gold Medals of the Autonomous Community 2002: Teodor ┌beda Gramage (Ontinyent, PaÝs ValenciÓ, 1931), present bishop of Mallorca; Cercle ArtÝstic de Ciutadella, a cultural society founded in 1881; Obra Cultural Balear (OCB), civic and cultural entity created in Palma in 1962 via the initiative ofá Francesc de Borja Moll, with the view to promoting the language and culture of the Balearics; and Grup d'Ornitologia Balear (GOB), ecological organisation founded in Palma in 1973 by Josep Antoni Alcover, Pere Bosch, Josep Maria Casasayas, Jes˙s Jurado, Joan Mayol and Hilari Morales.

Premi Ramon Llull a l'activitat cÝvica: Joan Riudavets Moll (Migjorn Gran, 1889), retired shoe maker, who is one of the oldest men in the world; Confederaciˇ d'Associacions de Ve´ns, organisation that groups the neighbourhood movement, Associaciˇ ParÓlisi Cerebral de Balears (ASPACE), organisation founded in Palma in 1976 by a group of parents of children affected by cerebral paralysis; Josep Campaner Puigserver (Palma, 1948), founder in 1996 of the NGO Noma Balears, today the Fundaciˇ Campaner, dedicated to the noma illness; and Encarnaciˇ Vi˝as Olivella (Lleida, 1919), pedagogue and teacher.

Premi Ramon Llull a les ciŔncies: Antoni Roig Muntaner (Palma, 1931), doctor with a wide curriculum in the field of teaching and investigation and one of the founders of the Balearic University (UIB).

Premi Ramon Llull a les lletres: Gabriel GalmÚs Truyols (Manacor, 1962-2001), writer and professor; Carme Riera (Palma, 1948), writer and university professor who lives in Barcelona since 1968; Anthony Bonner (New York, 1928), has been living on Mallorca for nearly 50 years and is the principal informer on the work by Ramon Llull,á Bartomeu BennÓssar Vicenš (Felanitx, 1937), doctor in theology and professor at the Centre d'Estudis Teol˛gics of Mallorca (CETEM); and Bartomeu MeliÓ Lliteras (Porreres, 1932), anthropologist specialising in the Guarani culture.

Premi Ramon Llull a les arts: Pere Quetglas Ferrer (Palma, 1915-2001), known as Xam, he was the caricaturist, publicity poster designer, etcher and painter; Coral UniversitÓria, musical group founded in 1977 in Palma by the director Joan Company Florit and by a group of professors and students of the Balearic Unviersity, UC, Ibizan musical group formed in 1973 by Isidor MarÝ, Joan MarÝ and VictorÝ Planells; and Ant˛nia Buades Vallespir (Sa Pobla, 1911), known asá Mad˛ Buades, self taught popular singer author.

The president of the Balearic Government, Francesc Antich, will give the awards on February 28, at 7 p.m. in an institutional ceremony at the Palma Professional Music Conservatory.

More information. Comunicats de premsa del Govern (21/02/2002)
Date of publication: 21/02/2002

© 1996-2019 BalearWeb / Mallorca - Advertising - Contact - Legal note - Accessibility